Interns Shine

Skip navigation

All the interns in attendance, along with the DG Franz Manderson and the Top Intern winners pose for a picture to celebrate the occasion.

Published 2nd August 2018, 3:43pm

Public Works Department (PWD) intern Maleke Ebanks earned Top Intern 2018 on Tuesday, at the 4th Annual Interns Farewell Reception.

The 4th Annual Summer Interns Farewell Celebration held in the GAB Cafeteria attracted a full crowd of interns, officials such as the Acting Governor Franz Manderson., Heads of Department, Chief Officers and elected officials, Minister of Finance and Economic Development Roy McTaggart and Councillor Austin Harris.

This year the Cayman Islands Government attracted a record amount of interns for the Summer Intern Programme with 133 as of 19 July. A total of 22 Ministries and Agencies participate in this programme.

Acting Chief Officer for the Portfolio of the Civil Service Andrea Fa’amoe welcomed attendees to the event and noted that as the largest employer with these Islands it is Government’s responsibility to provide young adults with the opportunity to glean a professional experience.

“With over a thousand positions available from law enforcement and border control to positions ranging from  finance and scientific research to graphic design and broadcasting we are confident we can provide our interns with a real, meaningful experience to help them determine their area of interest.”

His Excellency the Acting Governor Franz Manderson spoke in his capacity as Deputy Governor and Head of the Civil Service. He emphasised his start as an intern with the Department of Immigration and progressed to Deputy Governor. He offered a challenge to the 2018 Summer Interns, saying “If it is possible for me, can’t it be possible for you?”

Mr Manderson also advised them that the key to getting to the top is getting noticed, not only for qualifications but the attitude to work and colleagues.

This year’s ceremony featured joint masters of ceremony Briannah Myles (who organised the event) and Nashaunte Stewart (who led the singing of the National Song). Other interns officiating were Aidan Jacobson, who gave the vote of thanks, and Japhia Augustine, who led the prayer.

Next, Tristaca Ebanks, one of the government’s Employees of the Year for 2016/17, shared her civil service experiences. Ms Ebanks urged interns to be “creative, innovative, happy" and to "make an impact by always getting up, dressing up and showing up.”

2017 Chevening Scholarship recipient Richard Tyson, who works at the Department of Environmental Health as an engineering Technical Officer, spoke as a former intern. He concluded his message with an inspirational quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson, “Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”

In keeping with the CIG’s running theme of a World-Class Civil Service, the 2nd Intern Awards recognised interns who excelled in the categories of Teamwork, Leadership, Commitment and Customer Service.

The prize for Best Overall Intern went to Maleke Ebanks from the Public Works Department (PWD) for his thoughtfulness and works collaboratively with other member of the team and adjust his priorities when need to complete the a project.

PWD’s Acting Deputy Director of Finance & Admin Juliette Frederick noted on his nomination form; “Maleke goes the extra mile to ensure that his work is complete. He works through his lunch hour many days to create purchase orders for the works crews as he knows they are anxious to collect the POs after they take lunch.”

  • Channelle Thomas from the Cabinet Office, for Teamwork
  • Alikie Kandler from the Youth Services Unit (YSU), for Leadership
  • Lauroya Ebanks from PWD, for Commitment, and
  • Ashley White of the Department of Tourism for Customer Service.

Sponsors of the 2018 Interns Farewell Celebration were the Ministry of Human Resources and Immigration, the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development and the Portfolio of the Civil Service.